Login |  Register



Welcome
Welcome to engineeringdiy

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:33 pm 
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 122
Kamion wrote:
How to eliminate rotary encoder bouncing:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RqyhvlMKt14&t=3m46s

GreatScott! wrote:
You add a 1µF capacitor between DT and GND and another 1µF between CLK and GND.


I searched for this solution for a long time. Now my CarPC volumne control and song jumping will work like it should. :D


I have a problem with my rotary encoders.
Both of them are working but I am frustrated because both of them are sometimes "jumping on the spot".
That means they sense the turn but instead of (let say) changing to the next song they just replay the same from the begining. (song jumping is just an example, same for audio level)

What can I do?
Are the rotary encoders faulty or can I change the code to work beter?

Greetings and thank you.


Last edited by Kamion on Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:04 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 7:19 pm 
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 331
Have you connected pull up resistors ?


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:54 am 
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 122
No, I connected only rotary encoder, without switch. On the schematics rotary encoder is connected directly and there are already three resistors on the rotary encoder board.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:13 am 
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 331
@Kamion follow this :

http://www.engineering-diy.blogspot.ro/ ... gpios.html


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:23 pm 
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 122
I did it like it says here:
+ pin to 3.3V
GND pin to Raspberry PI GND
CLK and DT to two GPIOs
I did not connected the SW so I do not need the pull up resistor. I think that at this point I am not wrong.
Does yours work as they should?


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:23 pm 
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:18 pm
Posts: 82
You have module with rotary encoder, so pull-up resistors are probably on-board, you connected +3,3V so it should works. If there's no pullup reistors, rotary encoders will do not work. Rotary encoders sometimes "jumps", it's characteristic of them and I also have that problem.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:27 pm 
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 331
You guys must check if there is an onboard resistor , in my case there wasnt (but the empty place there is to soldering one ), then i got some tools to do it , if i remember well it is a 103 smd resistor.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 1:13 pm 
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 122
karolp1993 wrote:
You have module with rotary encoder, so pull-up resistors are probably on-board, you connected +3,3V so it should works. If there's no pullup reistors, rotary encoders will do not work. Rotary encoders sometimes "jumps", it's characteristic of them and I also have that problem.


Well, then I was right :) But I am still disapointed that it doest act like it is supposed to, because on the 3D printer, that we have, the built in rotary encoder, works without problem...

@Elias Alves: Yes I have three 103 resistors on the rotary encoder board.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:34 pm 
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 122
I have another 2 problems:
When I power up the Raspberry the volume is about 70% and when I turn the rotary encoder it will jump down to 0% and then start to rise. After this first turn it works just fine (except for the jumping).

And the volume wont go past the 95% when I operate it with rotary encoder.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Rotary Encoder "jumping"
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:23 pm 
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:18 pm
Posts: 82
I've got similar problems with buttons. When I shortly push once, volume increases to max, when I shortly push once, song should change to next, but jumps to last song one by one.


Report this post
Profile  Offline
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Panel

Top You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Search for:
Jump to:  


cron
suspicion-preferred